Female

I do not want a daughter

I do not want to explain to a little girl that one day people will criticize her just for her looks.

I do not want her to grow up believing that she is stupid because she is a woman.

I do not want my daughter to look at me and ask, “Why do they hate me?” and not have an answer for her.

I do not want society to tell a little girl what she can and cannot be.

I do not want her to grow up believing that she isn’t allowed to speak her mind because she may be considered annoying.

I do not want a little girl to look at me one day and tell me that she wishes she was never born.

I do not want my daughter to believe that she is not allowed to do great things.

I do not want my daughter to wake up one day and realize that the world is against women.

Then again, maybe I do want a daughter.

I would raise her to believe that society is not her definition.

I would tell her that beautiful things can still flourish in the worst of conditions.

I would raise her to understand that feminism is not evil.

I would raise her to be nice to everyone, including boys.

I would raise her to know that not all men are bad.

I would raise her to find a person like her father.

If she finds someone like her father, she will never listen to anything society says.

Her father knows that a woman is a blessing.

She is not a curse. She is not a disturbance. She is not a problem.

She is an angel. She is strong. She is fierce.

She is docile. She should be cherished.

Female is not a bad word.

 

Just a little something I wrote. Power to the ladies trying to raise a daughter to love herself in this world.

 

Leave a comment