False Alarm

Last night I had a strange experience. I’ve never had an allergic reaction to anything, so I had no idea what it was like for your throat to close up.

For some reason, last night my throat began to close on me. I had trouble breathing and for the first time in my life I felt as though I might die. (Yes, I’ve actually never been in a car accident. I’ve never been injured and rushed to the hospital. So at 19 years of age I am just now understanding this terrible feeling) I sat straight up in bed and tried my best to calm myself down. My boyfriend immediately recognized that I was in some sort of peril.

“Babe can you not breathe?” He asked frantically and began to gently rub my back.

I didn’t really have a good answer for him. I felt as though I was struggling to breathe, but another part of me felt that what was happening wasn’t that serious and I was just overreacting. After a few minutes of freaking out, my throat started to return to normal. I did have an awful headache afterwards though.

I still have absolutely no idea what this could’ve been. I hadn’t eaten anything out of the ordinary and I had already been in bed for a good half hour before experiencing this feeling. All I know is, my boyfriend had trouble falling asleep after that. He was constantly checking to make sure I was still alive. Even checking my pulse a couple times.

Before drifting off to sleep he simply stated, “If you feel like that again, wake me up immediately.”

It was a simple phrase. It stirred up love in me though. We all go through those strange bumps in a relationship where we question if we’re with the right person or doing the right thing. We’ve only been dating for about 10 months. I’ve known him for over three years though. I can honestly say that last night’s weird false alarm almost acted as a reminder that I am indeed with the right person.

Frankly, I hope everyone in the world finds someone like him. He’s one of the very few people that I never grow tired of and he constantly showers me with love and affection even in front of his friends. I am very happy to have found someone so amazing at the tender age of 19.

Everyone have a safe weekend!

Leave a Reply

