Kindle’s New Beta

Okay, let me start by saying that I haven’t officially published an eBook on Kindle. This is in part because I’m being meticulous since I’m editing the book myself. However, another problem that I have with solely publishing an eBook is the fact that I have many family members who prefer a paperback copy. Personally, I prefer them as well. Nothing beats having an actual book. The real paper and ink. It’s just so much better than a screen. Now, let me explain the email I received this morning…

Kindle is announcing the launch of their new beta. Let me tell you, I am so beyond excited about this. As some of you may know, Kindle has some requirements for receiving 70% of your royalties. In order for you to receive 70%, your book must cost no less than $2.99 and no more than $9.99. However, sometimes the 35% royalties aren’t so bad. Basically, if your book is less than 3 megabytes, your minimum price is $0.99. Anything between 3 and 10 megabytes has a minimum price of $1.99. Lastly, 10 megabytes has a minimum price of $2.99, which basically throws you into the 70% royalty.

Take note, these are the U.S. rules, they do vary from country to country. Which, brings us to the next problem with the 70% royalty option: There are a ton of little rules that must be followed if you want to sell your book to someone in a different country. I’ll be adding all of the links to the pricing rules for reference.

Anyway, now that I’ve explained why selling eBooks can be confusing, let me finally tell you about this email. Long story short, Kindle is now offering a way to sell paperbacks through their publishing service! So far, the process is very straight-forward. You can essentially convert any of your eBooks into paperback copies and Kindle will even assist you in creating a spine and back cover in addition to the cover you already create when you first publish your eBook. In fact, you can even change the whole cover for the paperback version if you really want to.

Kindle will even look over your book when it’s transformed into a paperback and inform you of any font/margin settings/image resolution problems that might occur during the transfer. You still have your non-exclusive agreement with Kindle and only you own the copyright to your book. You will even be able to have a paperback ready for international sale in just a few days. The best part of all?? Your book is 100% available 100% of the time. With printing on demand, your book is literally NEVER out of stock.

As you can tell, I’m pretty excited. Now, when it comes to the royalty earnings, it’s not a bad deal. You can earn up to 60% of your royalties minus printing costs. However, I’m not entirely sure how much printing costs will be. But, it has to beat hiring your own publisher and giving them part of your soul to write your book for you. Now, as far as I can tell, this is only available in the U.S., Europe, and Japan. The best part? Kindle claims it’s only going to get better! They will continue to add new features and helpful tools to make your book the best it can be.

Well, I might’ve just explained something that everyone already knew about, but I just had to share. Links will be posted below for reference!

Have a great Wednesday!

Basic eBook Royalty Rules

Complicated eBook Royalty Rules

Basic Explanation of Paperback and Royalty Rules

Leave a Reply

