The Interview

Let me know if that title was way too dramatic. For some reason I feel as though I’m gonna let a lot of people down with how mundane this post is.

I used to be a tomboy. 100% soccer, jeans, and guy friends. Women used to annoy the living crap out of me. Recently, I’ve learned that being friends with women doesn’t always mean trouble ahead. For instance, let’s talk about the interview I had today.

Retail will always have a special place in my heart. As someone who had a terrible time finding anything that fit my somewhat larger than normal physique, I hated shopping. I didn’t want to try anything on so I just started buying sweatpants, jeans, and the occasional t-shirt with a DC superhero on it.

As a 15 year-old in love with comics and all things nerdy, this was totally acceptable.┬áBut, now I’m 19 and all I want is for people to take me seriously. Every interview I’ve had, I always landed the job. During the interview, however, I knew the job was going to suck and I wasn’t going to like it. (Granted, the co-workers who I used to work with at the bank were cool, but ya know banking) My latest job, where I have only been working for two months, is a complete disaster and my last day is Thursday. This latest job is mentioned simply because it forced me to question whether or not I really want women as friends.

Then, today happened.

I had an interview at another clothing store in the same mall. For the first time in a long time, I was not worried at all about this interview. My mother had previously asked them if they were hiring (you know moms, I’m always gonna be that 13 year-old looking for a job to her) and they said that they were and explained how they try their best to make their store feel like a family unit.

That in it of itself was a breath of fresh air. Most companies really want you to be terrified of them. Fear is a way to control people and unfortunately a lot of managers feel as though they need to be feared in order to supervise properly. All of us experience that bad manager every now and again. People aren’t perfect.

I wore a skirt, heels, and a nice sweater. This skirt was REALLY annoying at first. I’ve never actually worn it until today. It’s probably considered one of the more comfortable skirts, but to me it was just a hinderance. The heels really weren’t near as bad as I expected them to be. I was honestly quite proud of my makeup and hair.

My interview went way better than I ever could’ve expected. I came in expecting a little part-time job to help cover some bills while I work on my writing. Near the end of the interview we discussed management opportunities.

I know it’s not a huge thing. It’s just a small manager position in a small store at a small mall. To me, it’s way more than I’ve ever been. The word MANAGER is scary, yet exhilarating. These women who interviewed me were the nicest people you could ever meet. Hopefully, I’m not psyching myself out because I technically didn’t get the job yet. They had other interviews for the day and they said they would be calling me.

If all goes well, I will be very happy. If nothing comes of this, I will still be happy. There are always other opportunities and I am just blessed to be able to decide my own destiny.

 

Leave a Reply

